I’m not sure what this says about my love life


I make no bones about it I LOVE Seth Godin! There you are it’s out there for all to see and I am not embarrassed or ashamed to admit it. I recommend that you allow yourself some time to listen to this session Seth Godin: Linchpin Sessions I promise that it will provide you with food for thought. It may even move you to challenge, change or start something that has been on your mind but that the "lizard brain" stifled! 

He has a wonderful knack of highlighting some of the absurdities that we (when I say “we” I really mean the majority) have come to accept as “the natural way”. Stuff that, if people actually questioned it, they would think twice about just bumbling along. Recession or not we should, by now, realise that, for as long as we are content to rely upon institutions to “take care of us”, we are failing to accept responsibility for our own health, wealth and happiness.

I can’t really speak for anyone else but, when asked to do something that I am not entirely comfortable with, I have come to recognise a sensation in my brain that tends to develop into a frown before forming into a question. Another curious thing happens! Anyone who knows me KNOWS that I don’t tend to be short on vocabulary…and am rarely afraid to use it…but I have found it difficult to verbalise this emotion. The specific words aren’t important but the message must sound something like “I am pig-headed, opinionated and awkward….and have no intention of executing your instruction” or “I don’t respect you or your position enough to blindly follow your instruction”. In my defence, I am always “up for a discussion”, am constructive, have or am willing to propose an alternative solution…even though they can be a bit progressive for hardcore traditionalists. Please tell me that I am not alone…   

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a Reply

