Dilbert speaks out on: complexity and a novel alternative investment strategy


OK so, in truth, it’s Scott Adams (creator of Dilbert) a man put on this earth to observe everyday office life and nuances of business culture then point out how absurd it all is and make us laugh at our own stupidity. When he speaks out it would serve us well to listen…or get a life:[W3Feature1]

Adams Complexity Threshold

“Complexity is often a natural outgrowth of success. Man-made complexity is simply a combination of things that we figured out how to do right, one layered on top of the other, until failure is achieved”

The Adams alternative investment strategy has as much merit as any other…

Invest in companies you HATE. Be warned though, it starts with having to ask yourself a tough and rather unexpected question:

Can you justify owning stock in companies that are treating the Earth like a prison pillow with a crayon face?

Thankfully we aren’t simply left with that thought, he does offer further guidance.

Leadership

When companies make money, we assume they are well-managed. That perception is reinforced by the CEOs of those companies who are happy to tell you all the clever things they did to make it happen. The problem with relying on this source of information is that CEOs are highly skilled in a special form of lying called leadership. Leadership involves convincing employees and investors that the CEO has something called a vision, a type of optimistic hallucination that can come true only in an environment in which the CEO is massively overcompensated and the employees have learned to be less selfish.

BP

I hate BP, but I admire them too, in the same way I respect the work ethic of serial killers. I remember the day I learned that BP was using a submarine…with a web cam…a mile under the sea…to feed live video of their disaster to the world. My mind screamed “STOP TRYING TO MAKE ME LOVE YOU! MUST…THINK…OF DEAD BIRDS TO MAINTAIN ANGER!” The geeky side of me has a bit of a crush on them, but I still hate them for turning Florida into a dip stick.

Apple

Recently I bought something called an iPhone. It drops calls so often that I no longer use it for audio conversations. It’s too frustrating. And unlike my old BlackBerry days, I don’t send e-mail on the iPhone because the on-screen keyboard is, as far as I can tell, an elaborate practical joke. I am, however, willing to respond to incoming text messages a long as they are in the form of yes-no questions and my answer are in the affirmative. In those cases I can simply type “k,” the shorthand for OK, and I have trained my friends and family to accept L, J, O, or comma as meaning the same thing.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

