The Complexity Conundrum: MBA business-speak a source..?


Here is an extract from an article that makes so much more sense than does the modern business-speak that I must confess to “understanding” and using! In my defence can I say that I hear it as a foreign language, interpret it and, on occasion, respond in that language ONLY to make myself understood.

On refection that last statement isn’t actually true! Sometimes I respond in this alien language to test the range of vocabulary and/or actual (useful) knowledge of the other person. Once the façade starts to crack good old (BS free) down-to-earth English can have the impact of a WMD…**BOOM**…get the contract or “I’ll get my coat and leave you with your (bruised) ego”!!!

…”The strange thing about my utter lack of education in management was that it didn’t seem to matter. As a principal and founding partner of a consulting firm that eventually grew to 600 employees, I interviewed, hired, and worked alongside hundreds of business-school graduates, and the impression I formed of the M.B.A. experience was that it involved taking two years out of your life and going deeply into debt, all for the sake of learning how to keep a straight face while using phrases like “out-of-the-box thinking,” “win-win situation,” and “core competencies.” When it came to picking teammates, I generally held out higher hopes for those individuals who had used their university years to learn about something other than business administration”…

http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/print/2006/06/the-management-myth/4883/

This is THE question that grabbed my attention…and how! Are MBA programs up to the challenge of developing leaders who can manage complexity well? via The Complexity Conundrum – BusinessWeek. Unfortunately there just wasn’t enough space for my full response. So, here is the unabridged, unedited, version: Put simply…”NO”. Of course I am not in a position to pre-judge every MBA course BUT, on the basis that Academics cannot agree on a common la … Read More

via Get “fit for randomness” [with Ontonix UK]

Leave a Reply

